

Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District

R-15-15 Meeting 15-03 January 28, 2015

AGENDA ITEM 3

AGENDA ITEM

Appointment of Board of Directors Standing Committee Members for Calendar Year 2015

BOARD PRESIDENT'S RECOMMENDATION

Approve the President's appointments to the Board Standing Committees, as well as approve the appointments of Board representatives to other bodies, and determine the compensation status for attendance at Board Committee meetings.

SUMMARY

Every year, the newly elected Board President appoints members to each of the Board's Committees and to represent the District on outside bodies with consent of the full Board.

DISCUSSION

The Board Policy on Committees (1.04) states that the Board President appoints Board members to annual Standing Committees and to represent the District on outside bodies, with the consent of the Board. The five (5) Board Standing Committees are:

- 1. Action Plan and Budget Committee (ABC)
- 2. Legislative, Funding and Public Affairs Committee (LFPAC)
- 3. Planning and Natural Resources (PNR)
- 4. Real Property Committee
- 5. Board Appointee Evaluation (BAE)

Following the Board Policy on Committees, Director Riffle (Board Treasurer) will be assigned as one of the three members of ABC. At the January 8, 2015 Board meeting, the Board President appointed Directors Pete Siemens, Curt Riffle and Yoriko Kishimoto to ABC.

Board Policy 6.03 (Compensation of Directors & Payment of Expenses) of the Board Policy Manual states that all Standing Committees are compensable and compensability for attendance of Ad Hoc Committee meetings is determined on an as-needed basis by the Board. It is recommended that Board members be compensated for attendance at all Board Committee meetings. It is further recommended that Board member attendance at meetings of the two outside bodies, the Bay Ridge Trail Council and California Joint Powers Insurance Authority (CalJPIA), remain non-compensable.

In accordance with California Public Resources Code Section 5536 and Board Policy 6.03, each District Board member may receive compensation in an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars

(\$100) per day for each attendance at a Board meeting and no Board member may receive more than five hundred dollars (\$500) compensation in any one calendar month. Accordingly, with seven Board members, the maximum the entire Board could receive pursuant to state law is \$42,000 per year. The District's current budget for Board meeting compensation is \$26,000 for fiscal year 2015-16. If it is determined that additional funds are required, a budget adjustment will be requested during the FY2015-16 midyear budget review.

The proposed committee assignments for 2015 are as follows:

Action Plan and Budget:

- Pete Siemens
- Curt Riffle
- Yoriko Kishimoto

Planning and Natural Resources:

- Jed Cyr
- Larry Hassett
- Curt Riffle

Legislative, Funding and Public Affairs:

- Jed Cyr
- Nonette Hanko
- Cecily Harris

Real Property:

- Jed Cyr
- Nonette Hanko
- Larry Hassett

Board Appointee Evaluation:

- Cecily Harris
- Pete Siemens
- Yoriko Kishimoto

FISCAL IMPACT

There will be no new or incremental fiscal impact associated with this action. Board compensation for committee work is included in the annual budget

PUBLIC NOTICE

Public Notice was provided pursuant to the requirements of the Brown Act. No further notice is required.

CEQA COMPLIANCE

This proposed action is not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) and no environmental review is required.

NEXT STEPS

If approved, staff will prepare a new roster of Board Committee assignments for posting internally and on the District website.

Responsible Department Manager: Steve Abbors, General Manager

Prepared by: Jennifer Woodworth, District Clerk

Contact person: Pete Siemens, Board President