

R-24-06 Meeting 24-01 January 10, 2024

AGENDA ITEM 7

AGENDA ITEM

Election of the Calendar Year 2024 Officers for the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Board of Directors

GENERAL MANAGER'S RECOMMENDATION LINE

Elect Officers of the Board of Directors for Calendar Year 2024.

SUMMARY

Pursuant to Board Policy 1.06 (*Board Officers*), the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (District) Board of Directors (Board) is required to elect new officers for the calendar year at its first regular meeting in January. The District Clerk will hold election by roll call vote.

DISCUSSION

Public Resources Code §5535 requires the Board to elect from its members a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary at the first regular meeting in January of each year. The term of each officer is for one year. The duties of each officer are outlined as follows:

President: The President shall be the presiding officer of the Board and shall assume her/his/their place and duties as such immediately following her/his/their election. The presiding officer shall preserve order at all meetings of the Board, announce its decisions on all subjects, and decide all questions of order, subject to an appeal to the Board. She/he/they shall participate in debate, make motions, and vote on all questions as other members of the Board. The President shall sign all Board-approved ordinances, resolutions, contracts and conveyances on behalf of the District, shall sign financial instruments as appropriate, and she/he/they shall perform such other duties as may be imposed upon her/him/them by the Board.

Vice-President: In the absence of the President, or in the event of her/his/their inability to act, the Vice-President shall perform all the powers and duties of the President.

Treasurer: The Treasurer shall be a member of the Budget Committee and shall sign financial instruments as appropriate.

Secretary: The Secretary shall countersign all ordinances and resolutions, and the District Clerk shall countersign all contracts and conveyances approved by the Board.

R-24-06 Page 2

Board Policy 1.06 lists the order of officers to be elected as follows: President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and Secretary. Each Board Officer will be elected by a separate vote starting with a call for nominations from the Board. Following the close of nominations, election of each Board Officer will proceed by roll call vote conducted by the District Clerk and the results recorded in the official minutes of the meeting. The Director receiving a majority of the vote of the members of the Board will be elected. Each of the four Board officers will be elected using this procedure.

At the January 8, 2020 Board meeting (<u>meeting minutes</u>), the Board discussed various options for determining the next Board member to serve as Board President and Board Vice-President and through consensus set the following guidelines:

- 1. The Director representing the ward, which ward has not held the position of president for the longest duration of time, could be nominated to serve as the Board President.
- 2. If the Director representing that ward is newly elected, she/he/they could serve as the Board Vice-President to allow sufficient opportunity to become familiarized with the Board and District before serving as Board President.
- 3. The ward that has the second longest duration of time since serving as president could be nominated to serve as vice-president.
- 4. A Director may decline a nomination to the position of president, vice-president, or any other office if desired.

The Board determines the process for deciding which Directors will serve as Board officers for the calendar year and may use the previously discussed guidelines or another process, as determined by the Board.

FISCAL IMPACT

None

PRIOR BOARD AND COMMITTEE REVIEW

None

PUBLIC NOTICE

Notice was provided pursuant to the Brown Act. No additional notice is necessary.

CEQA COMPLIANCE

No compliance is required as this action is not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).

NEXT STEPS

Following the election of Board officers, staff will prepare a new roster for posting and notify the Secretary of State.

Attachments:

1. History of Board Officers as of 2009

R-24-06 Page 3

Responsible Department Head: Ana Ruiz, General Manager

Prepared by/Contact person: Maria Soria, District Clerk/Assistant to the General Manager

BOARD OFFICER HISTORY AS OF 2009

2009

President - Nonette Hanko (Ward 5) Vice-President - Mary Davey Treasurer - Curt Riffle Secretary - Jed Cyr

2010

President – Mary Davey (Ward 2) Vice-President – Larry Hassett Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Jed Cyr

2011

President – Larry Hassett (Ward 6) Vice-President – Curt Riffle Treasurer – Pete Siemens Secretary – Cecily Harris

2012

President – Curt Riffle (Ward 4) Vice-President – Jed Cyr Treasurer – Pete Siemens Secretary – Yoriko Kishimoto

2013

President – Jed Cyr (Ward 3) Vice-President – Cecily Harris Treasurer – Pete Siemens Secretary – Yoriko Kishimoto

2014

President – Cecily Harris (Ward 7) Vice-President – Pete Siemens Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Larry Hassett

2015

President – Pete Siemens (Ward 1) Vice-President – Yoriko Kishimoto Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Jed Cyr

2016

President – Yoriko Kishimoto (Ward 2) Vice-President – Larry Hassett Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Cecily Harris

2017

President – Larry Hassett (Ward 6) Vice-President – Curt Riffle Treasurer – Jed Cyr Secretary –Pete Siemens

2018

President – Jed Cyr (Ward 3) Vice-President – Cecily Harris (through 10/10/18); Pete Siemens (beginning 10/24/18) Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Yoriko Kishimoto

2019

President – Pete Siemens (Ward 1) Vice-President – Karen Holman Treasurer – Yoriko Kishimoto Secretary – Zoe Kersteen-Tucker

2020

President – Karen Holman (Ward 5) Vice-President – Curt Riffle Treasurer – Yoriko Kishimoto Secretary – Jed Cyr

2021

President – Curt Riffle (Ward 4) Vice-President – Zoe Kersteen-Tucker Treasurer – Yoriko Kishimoto Secretary – Larry Hassett

2022

President – Zoe Kersteen-Tucker (Ward 7) Vice-President – Yoriko Kishimoto Treasurer – Jed Cyr Secretary – Karen Holman

2023

President – Yoriko Kishimoto (Ward 2) Vice-President – Margaret MacNiven Treasurer – Curt Riffle Secretary – Craig Gleason