

R-13-14 Meeting 13-03 January 23, 2013

## AGENDA ITEM 7

#### **AGENDA ITEM**

Appointment of District Representatives to the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Financing Authority for Calendar Year 2013

# BOARD PRESIDENT'S RECOMMENDATION

Approve appointment of Directors Jed Cyr, Larry Hassett, Curt Riffle and Cecily Harris to serve on the Governing Board of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Financing Authority ("Authority") for Calendar Year 2013.

## **DISCUSSION**

The Governing Board of the Authority consists of five members. In accordance with the Joint Powers Agreement and its bylaws, the District's Board President shall automatically be the Chairperson of the Authority. Three of the other four members are appointed by the Board President, to be selected from among the District's Board of Directors. The fifth member is the member of the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors whose district encompasses the greatest territory of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District, and who is appointed to the Board of the Financing Authority by the Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Supervisor Joe Simitian was appointed to the Authority Board by the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors on January 15, 2013, and will remain as the fifth member through the remainder of his term which expires at the end of 2016.

#### **BOARD COMMITTEE REVIEW**

Board Committee Review of this item is not required.

## FISCAL IMPACT

There are no unbudgeted fiscal impacts associated with the recommended action.

#### PUBLIC NOTICE

Public notice was provided as required by the Brown Act. No additional notice is required.

R-13-14 Page 2

# **CEQA COMPLIANCE**

No compliance is required as this action is not a project under the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA).

# **NEXT STEP**

Once the Board has approved the appointments, the District staff will prepare a new roster of Financing Authority Board Members for internal posting.

Prepared by: Michelle Radcliffe, District Clerk

Contact person: Jed Cyr, Board President